Older Previous~Next
July 13, 2004
23:24

My brother and I were in a one-story suite, curtains closed, we needed to be moving out, clothes strewn about.

I looked at my yearbook from 1997, with pictures of Lauren, Heather, Sam and me. The transition from past to present can feel like a funeral procession.

A beautiful butterfly adorned the wall. Its colors were bright and its texture was like a soft sort of denim. The guy who always carries around a drawing of Jesus mentioned using a zoom lens to shoot it but I told him a macro would be better and that I'd explain it to him seven years from his place in time.

My brother pretended to or actually DID throw a spider at my crotch and I struggled to get away and smash it. It didn't occur to me at the time that it could have been a butterfly.
Dairyland